Skip Navigation LinksUniversity of Cantabria > News > The University of Cantabria celebrates its patron saint, Saint Thomas Aquinas. Solemn Academic Act for Saint Thomas Aquinas 2014

The University of Cantabria celebrates its patron saint, Saint Thomas Aquinas. Solemn Academic Act for Saint Thomas Aquinas 2014

During the act Doctor Honoris Causa will be conferred to the historian John Elliot and the Silver Medals of the Institution will be handed over  to Arija Inés and Ramón Teja

On January 28th  2015,  the University of Cantabria held the solemn Academic Act of Saint Thomas Aquinas, the University Patron Saint, in the Auditorium of the University of Cantabria.

The academic ceremony will begin with the inauguration of Doctor Honoris Causa to Professor Sir John Huxtable Elliott, PhD in History by the Trinity College of Cambridge University (1952) with a study about the Catalan rebellion in 1640, and whose teaching was developed at the King's College of London (1968-73), at the Institute for Advanced Studies in Princeton, United States, (1973-90) and the University of Oxford (1990-97).

Together with his extensive teaching activity we can also add his intensive research work which has focused on the study of the Spanish Empire, placing it from a comparative perspective in the European context and more widely in the Atlantic context in which it unfolded. The result of Elliot's efforts, a researcher  who stands out because of his knowledge, complexity of approach and literary brilliance , are the numerous international awards he has received and who has also been named Doctor Honoris Causa by a handful of Spanish and foreign universities. He received the title of Sir in 1994 in recognition of his services as a historian. The Spanish Government has also distinguished him with the title of "Encomienda de Alfonso X el Sabio", of " Isabel la Católica", Order of the Great Cross of Alfonso X el Sabio or the Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences in 1996.


Homage to the Philosophy and Letters Faculty

José Ignacio Fortea Pérez, UC Professor of History will be in charge of presenting his Laudatio, to the new Doctor Honoris Causa by the University of Cantabria.

Before the solemn Academic Act and throughout the morning, John Elliott will receive the homage of the UC Faculty of Philosophy and Letters. Recognition of this University centre to the renowned hispanist will begin at 11 a.m., with him signing the book of Honor of the faculty, and he will then move to the center garden, located between the Faculty and the Three Towers building, where he will plant an oak tree. Finally, John Elliott will meet the academic community of the faculty, in the Staffroom in the Center.


Awards and distinctions

The academic ceremony in the evening which will open the appointment of Sir John Elliott will continue with the recognition and distinctions to different members of the University community: it will confer the new doctors at the UC the extraordinary End of Degree awards, as well as the extraordinary Doctorate awards.

José Luis Zárate, President of the Social Council will award the Literary Awards - Narrative and Poetry - Manuel Arce 2014 of the UC Social Council/Committee.

The lawyer Mª Cruz Reguera Andres will collect the Isabel Torres award to research in Women' and Gender Studies, an award promoted by the University of Cantabria and the regional government, which has recognized the work of Professor Reguera in its sixth edition about the right to reproductive health.

Finally, members of the University community who have retired during the last year will receive recognition of their peers.


Silver Medal

The Silver Medal is a distinction the UC gives to members of the University community in recognition of services rendered to the institution.

On this occasion, it pays homage to Inés Arija Dufol, the first professional librarian to join the University of Cantabria, and to the Emeritus Professor Ramon Teja Casuso from the UC Department of Historical Sciences, with a wide experience in the fields of teaching, research and management.

Arija Ines was proposed for this distinction by the rector, José Carlos Gómez Sal and by an initiative of the University Library and the C.C.O.O. Trade Union. Professor Ramón Teja was proposed by the Department of Historical Sciences.

Interventions by the UC Chancellor, José Carlos Gómez Sal and the regional President, Juan Ignacio Diego, closed an academic ceremony that will be attended by the first academic, local and regional authorities.



Prior to this celebration and as has now become tradition, the University will remember those members who died during the past year with the celebration of a Mass which will take place today at 12 noon, in the Santísimo Cristo Parish, officiated by the vicar general of the Diocese of Santander, Manuel Fernández Herrero